DIY Spa Day!

Photo Jan 24, 2 33 24 PM

One of my goals this week was to reward myself with a spa day. After a long work week I earned it! So I decided to go all out and really commit to a full day of pampering. Let me tell you, what a difference it makes to just slow down, relax, and invest the time to pamper yourself! In this post I’ll take you through my day for a comprehensive DIY spa day that you can try at home too. Some of the items I used are my favorite products but some I made myself. I made a lip scrub, body scrub, foot soak, and eye puffiness reducer and I made all four of these items in about 1 hour total, so I promise they are super simple. If I can do them, anyone can! I’m just going to list everything in the order I did them because that made the most sense to me but obviously they can be done in any order.

Yoga: Starting out my day with a good stretch and a calm mind is super important. I love yoga because it’s not that strenuous and quite relaxing. It really got me ready, body and mind, for my day of pampering.

s1653864-main-hero-300Scalp Oil: Earth’s Nectar Hair Care – Mint Leaves Scalp Oil – This is one of my favorite products. I don’t think I would ever use this in the summer, as my hair is oily enough, but during the winter my scalp can get so dry in this cold, dry air. This product not only moisturizes your scalp but also has tons of other great features like encouraging hair strength and growth.

Lip Exfoliator: Honey and Sugar Lip Scrub – I found this great recipe online for a DIY lip scrub. I stuck almost exactly to the recipe here but I used a little bit more lemon. This scrub has 1 tsp coconut oil, 2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp honey, and a dash of lemon. So, super simple! Just mix the ingredients together and you’re all set. For specific instructions, click the link above.

Photo Jan 23, 8 59 52 PM   Photo Jan 23, 9 00 23 PM      Photo Jan 23, 9 01 17 PM      Photo Jan 23, 9 04 56 PM

frutiqueFace Exfoliation: Frutique Papaya Enzyme Exfoliating Gel – I swear by this product! A few months ago I got a facial at a legit spa and the woman asked me what one of my bigger skin issues was. I told her that I tend to have a kind of uneven and reddish skin tone. She said I had sensitive skin (which for some reason I didn’t realize) and recommended an enzyme exfoliator – aka not an exfoliator with beads or other scrub type textures. These scrub exfoliators can leave tiny scratches on your skin and make your skin look more red. The enzyme exfoliator has enzymes that “eat” the dead skin on your face and therefore leaves you without these scratches and a more even, less red, skin tone. Anyways, I love this exfoliator because it smells really good and you can also feel the dead skin coming off your face (sounds weird but at least you know its working!) The dead skin kind of clumps together as you spread it on your face and then rinses off.

Relaxing Shower: Coconut/Lemon Sugar Scrub Cubes – This is another recipe I found online. It’s a soap based exfoliating scrub. The original recipe is above but I’ll share what I used:

Photo Jan 23, 8 38 36 PM

  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded soap (about 1/2 bar of soap) I used Olay with Shea Butter
    • Grater (to shred the soap)
  • Lemon/Vitamin E bath oil
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • Ice cube trays
  1. Mix coconut oil and shredded soap in the microwave at 10 second intervals, stirring in between, until melted together.
  2. Add a generous amount of oil.
  3. Get your Ice cube trays ready
  4. Add sugar – this will cause the mixture to harden very quickly.
  5. Scoop mixture into ice cube trays and place in the freezer to set for 30-45 minutes.
  6. Store them in an airtight jar and enjoy!

                Photo Jan 23, 8 40 02 PM    Photo Jan 23, 8 47 27 PM

      Photo Jan 23, 8 50 33 PM     Photo Jan 23, 8 55 43 PM

The original recipe has more detailed instructions but this is the gist of it. This is probably the most complicated of all the things I made, so it only gets easier from here on out! Also, I would recommend storing them in the freezer because mine got kind of soft by the time I wanted to use them. They still worked really well though. My skin felt so soft and smooth afterwards. I’ll definitely be making and using these again!

john-frieda-go-blonder-shampooWash/Condition my hair – Ok I’m just going to say it – I use John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder shampoo. I have naturally very light blonde hair but in the winter it can start looking a bit dull from lack of sunlight. This shampoo really helps counteract that problem. Is it cheating? Maybe. But I don’t think so. I also deep conditioned my hair with Cool Way Boost Repair. After shampooing and rinsing put a bunch of this stuff in your hair and leave it for five minutes. It smells amazing and leaves your hair really soft! I got this product through Ipsy (which is a whole other thing that I could go on about) but product_detail_BoostRepairMaskbasically it’s a monthly service that costs $10 (free shipping) and they send you 5 beauty products tailored to you in a cute makeup bag every month. It’s so worth the money and allows you to try a bunch of great products you might never have known about or tried otherwise – like my new favorite conditioner that I’m definitely buying more of.

purityWash my face: My favorite face wash is Purity. It’s a great cleanser and also a great makeup remover. Overall, it’s amazing. Plus it smells like a spa!

clay maskFace Mask: Botanics Ionic Clay Mask – Shine Away – Once my skin was all exfoliated and cleansed I used my favorite clay mask. This mask is designed to pull the oil out of your skin and leave your pores cleaner.  This is a new product I’ve bought and I’m already in love with it after only a few uses.

lip balmLip Balm: Malin + Goetz Mojito Lip Balm Another Ipsy product that I just got this month. So far I love it! It really hydrates and moisturizes so its the perfect finish after the scrub from earlier.

Foot Bath: Citrus Mint Foot SoakAnother online recipe. Really so simple. The hardest part was finding all the ingredients, which leads to my disclaimer…

****I could not really find essential oils (I got all this stuff at Walmart and Target – I’m on a budget haha. Instead I got some extracts of the same or similar flavor. I looked it up and it seems like this is an ok thing to do. I guess the main difference is that oils are more concentrated than extracts so you need a lot more extract than you would oil. I also figure if it’s safe to eat then it must be safe to use on your body…right? Anyways, I just wanted to state that somewhere. I think oils would definitely be preferable and next time I guess I’ll try to order them online beforehand instead of trusting my local, middle of nowhere Walmart to have them in stock…

Anyways, back to the foot soak. So the ingredients I used were:

Photo Jan 23, 8 03 44 PM

  • 2 cups Epsom salts (scented with Spearmint and Eucalyptus)
  • 1 Lime
  • Grater
  • Peppermint extract (should be oil)
  • Orange Extract (should be oil)
  • Green food coloring
  1. Pour Epsom salt in bowl.

Photo Jan 23, 8 07 17 PM2. Grate the outside of a lime to add lime zest.

Photo Jan 23, 8 14 41 PM3. Add generous amount of peppermint and orange extract – I used about a capful of each)

4. Add two drops of green food coloring – believe me, it will be enough! You’re going for a light green color.

Photo Jan 23, 8 20 46 PM5. Stir it all up until well blended and then put it in a sealed jar.

Photo Jan 23, 8 23 04 PM Photo Jan 23, 8 28 48 PM

Again, more detailed instructions are in the link to the original recipe I found above.

Photo Jan 23, 9 28 54 PMEye Soother: Cucumber Aloe Gel – This is the last of the homemade recipes. This has only two ingredients: Aloe gel and cucumber juice. Original recipe is above, mine is more of a liquid than a gel but it seemed to work just as well.

  1. Wash, peel, and slice half a cucumber and blend it in a blender.
  2. Strain this mixture over a bowl so you’re only left with juice (pure cucumber liquid)
  3. Add a couple tbsp of aloe gel.
  4. Mix very well. It should end up being a completely liquid mixture.
  5. Refrigerate before use and for storage.

When I used this I also cut up the other half of the cucumber into slices and put them over my eyes after I put on the cucumber/aloe mixture.

Massage: I just used a home neck and back massage thing. It’s kind of big and clunky but it works really well and has tons of different settings. I gave myself a nice neck massage which I really needed!

Photo Jan 24, 7 02 57 PMMani/Pedi: Lastly, I gave myself a mani/pedi. I started with some hand lotion and picked out  a nice soft purple color. I recommend doing this last once you won’t really be needing your hands anymore.

I made all my products the night before so I could just focus on relaxing the day of. I also tried to decorate my jars to make them cuter and more spa like but this is also a good idea for gifting. I just used some labels and ribbon but the decorating possibilities are endless! Also, obviously slip on some comfy clothes (slippers, bathrobe, sweats…whatever you feel coziest in), and I played some relaxing spa music. Turns out Pandora has a Spa station, who knew?

Well, sorry this is so long but I did say I went all out with the pampering thing. Hopefully this gave you some inspiration on stuff to try for your own relaxing spa day! Let me know some of your favorite products or at home spa day activities in the comments! 🙂

-xo Kate

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

