Better Late Than Never – Beautycon Box (Summer 2016) Unboxing/Review

on

The Beautycon box is something that I recently subscribed to, hence the summer box in September. I’m thrilled the timing worked out and I was able to receive the summer box because it is AMAZING! Even though this is totally old news for many people, I’m still going to post about it because I am just too excited about all the great products I just got.

DSC03334
Here’s a look at the complete box. So much stuff!!

First, I’ll give you the rundown on what this box is all about for those that don’t know. The Beautycon box costs $29 and is a quarterly subscription beauty/accessory box. Each quarter a different makeup influencer (youtuber?) gets to curate a box filled with $100+ worth of stuff. I’ll repeat – $100+ worth for only $29!! Really, that’s all I needed to know and I was sold. These aren’t just tiny little sample products either, most of them are full size!

So, without further adieu, let’s break down everything that came in my summer box, curated by Kandee Johnson, youtuber/beauty blogger. Prepare to be amazed!

Benzac Acne Solutions – Blemish Clearing Hydrator [FULL SIZE]- $8

Garnier SkinActive – Clearly Brighter Daily Moisturizer [FULL SIZE] – $15

Neutrogena – Ultra Light Cleansing Oil [FULL SIZE] – $8 

DSC03337This box came with a ton of skincare products, which is great because summer can be a rough time with all the heat and sweat. Even though summer is sadly coming to a close, I’m still going to get tons of use out of these products because I have naturally oily and acne prone skin. Plus, because they’re moisturizers and hydrators they’ll carry over perfectly into the drier fall and winter. I’ve never tried a cleansing oil before, I usually just stick to regular face wash, so I’m excited to see how this performs in comparison.

La Fresh – Beauty & Personal Care Wipes (Nail Polish Remover & Instant Cooling Body Soother) – on the website full boxes (20-50 wipes) seem to be priced anywhere from $10-$20.

VersaSpa – Face Moisturizing Gradual Tanner [SAMPLE SIZE] – This was just a sample size but it seems like full size starts around $23 on Amazon

Redken – Fashion Waves Sea Salt Spray [FULL SIZE] – $15

DSC03340I own a lot of texturizing sprays already. As a girl with fine hair I’m always looking for that boost of volume, however most of my sprays have let me down (literally!). This one seems to be better. It smells amazing, as promised, and it did give my hair some good volume and upped my wave game for sure.

I’m a little bit scared about the gradual tanner because I’m so pale. I tried a little on my hand to see how dark it was and surprisingly it was clear. This makes me more inclined to try it but I’m still a little nervous. We’ll see…

I’m not thrilled about the nail polish remover wipe because I already have about 3 bottles of the stuff on my shelf. I guess these little wipes are meant to be on-the-go though. If I’m ever in a situation where I need to ditch my nail polish quick this will be helpful, but other than that I can’t really see much use for it. Actually, I guess it could be good for travel. I do like the cooling body soother though, it seems like a really practical thing to throw in my purse for whenever I need to freshen up.

Too Faced – Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara [SAMPLE SIZE] – $23

NYX – Jumbo Eye Pencil in Cashmere [FULL SIZE] – $4

Smashbox – Brow Tech Shaping Powder in Taupe [FULL SIZE] – $25

DSC03344I’m so excited for this mascara. I’ve heard amazing things about it so my expectations are pretty high. Also, I love the tube it’s in, the little specs that look like water droplets are such a creative, fun touch!

Adding to the list of products I’m worried about/are out of my comfort zone – the brow shaping powder. I have basically nonexistent eyebrows (not really, they’re just super blonde) so I’m worried this could be a bit dark for me, even though Taupe should theoretically work for everyone. After swatching it (picture at the end) it seems like it could work if i use a small amount and a light hand. I’ll give it a try!

I love eyeshadow crayons so much! They’re just so easy to use, which is great for me when I’m getting ready for work early in the morning. This crayon is in a really nice gold shade. It has a lot of shimmer to it so it’s really pretty. I actually just bought a shadow crayon recently in a very similar shade (Rimmel London ScandalEyes Eye Shadow Stick in Bulletproof Beige). This NYX one has more shimmer to it where Rimmel is more matte. Both are super pretty in their own way so I’m fine with having two of a similar color.

Cover FX – Contour Brush – $38

NYX – Ombre Lip Duo in Peaches & Cream [FULL SIZE] – $12

DSC03345This contour brush seems like it will be great for both precision and blending so I’m really excited to try it out. I don’t really own any expensive brushes, I’m usually more of the mind that a brush is just a brush. This is definitely the most expensive brush I own and it feels pretty extravagant – but in like a nice, luxurious, fancy way. Anyways, we’ll see if it translates to a better makeup application experience.

At first glance, the lip colors in this ombre duo seem too different to ever be used together. I was so curious though, I had to try it out right away. Surprisingly, they actually blend way better than expected and I love it! It has a very tropical feel to it but it looks so pretty I’ll probably end up wearing it year-round!

Overall, I love this box so much! It has a great variety of products and although they’re summer based they could just as easily be used in any other season. I love that the mix of products in here are so wearable but also push me out of my comfort zone just enough. After all, that’s kind of the point of these boxes, to try out some new products and see if you like them, right? The value is just great as well. There’s around $150 total product value. I still can’t believe I got it all for $29! I can’t wait for the fall box which I should be getting sometime in the next couple of weeks. I’m excited! Anyway, I hope this review gave you a good idea of the Beautycon box and you enjoyed seeing some of this stuff.

If you want to subscribe to the Beautycon box, you can do that here! I believe they’re having a promotion for a free box with a Fall box purchase or something like that, so now would be a great time to sign up!

Let me know in the comments if you’ve tried any of these products or have any tips about them you want to share. Thanks for reading!

-xo Kate

Also, I got a coupon for this seventeen magazine online store, The Edit. It’s 15% off and free shipping. I went to the site and I’m not crazy about anything so I won’t be using it. I’m not sure if the code is specific to my coupon or just a generic code but if anyone wants to use it let me know in the comments and I’ll give it to you!

 

Leave a comment